6 Sophomores, 5 Freshmen Earn All-League Status

6 Sophomores, 5 Freshmen Earn All-League Status

West Hills College Coalinga head coach Justin Berna announced that 11 Falcons earned 2017 All-Golden Coast League honors.

The Falcons landed six sophomores and five freshmen on the list, which included votes from opposing head coaches.

Sophomore center Apefai "Junior" Taifane (Pago Pago, AS) was a unanimous selection, making him eligible for an All-Region nomination.

Sophomore DL Marquis Caldwell (Corona, CA) was the team's only two-time All-GCL player. Caldwell led all Falcon interior linemen with 33 tackles, 8 tackles for loss, and 3.5 sacks on the season.

Other defensive selections included sophomore DE Eric Powell (Glen Burnie, MD) and sophomore LB Josh Parks (Baltimore, MD).

Powell, who had a break-through season under defensive coordinator Ben Barkema, led the league with 19 tackles for loss - and led the Falcons with 10.5 sacks (third in the GCL).

Parks led the team in tackles with 82 (third in the GCL) to go along with 12 tackles for loss, 8 sacks, 2 forced fumbles, 2 interceptions, and 1 fumble recovery.

Sophomore DB Andreaz Spencer (Cottandle, AL) made the All-GCL Team as a return specialist. Spencer led the GCL in punt return average (28.0) - including a 55-yard TD - and ranked fifth in league kick return average (24.6) - including an 87-yard score.

Two freshmen also made the All-GCL Team: hard-hitting safety Doniaj Smelker (Colorado Springs, CO), who led WHCC defensive backs with 42 tackles (also 3 forced fumbles, 3 pass breakups, 2 fumble recoveries, 1 INT returned for a TD); and WR Eugene Wells (Metairie, LA), who led the team in receptions (53 for 402 and 3 TDs) and all-purpose yardage (753). Wells also led the league in kickoff return average (29.4).

Honorable mentions included: sophomore DE Michael Lightsey (St. Augustine, FL); freshman QB Myron Norfleet (Louisville, KY); freshman OL James Ehoff (Bakersfield, CA); and freshman WR Nick Williams (Saraland, AL).

The All-GCL selections will be recognized - along with other team award-winners - at the Falcons' Football Banquet on Dec. 7 at the Elks Lodge in Coalinga.